Poynton Runners

Post comments on local Poynton issues or reply to others.

Moderators: tarboat, knighs, nedsram

Peach

Poynton Runners

Postby Peach » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:50 am

In May 2016 Poynton Runners was formed to bring together people with a mutual interest in running/walking on a regular basis from complete beginners to experienced athletes. We have an admin group of around 7 of us that between us organise regular sessions on Tuesday / Thursday (morning and evening) and Saturday mornings.

Anyone interested should search out 'Poynton Runners' on Facebook (or send me a message on here) - There will be other means of contact eventually but we are attempting to keep is as informal as possible to limit the administration.

We currently have a wide range of runners/walkers from people on the 'Couch to 5k' programme to 10k regulars to fell runners to marathon runners to Ironman triathletes - all equally welcome (but to be honest we get more out of getting people up to a 5k run than anything else). Numbers range from 30-50 in the week to a hardy 10-15 on a rainy Saturday morning. Both Children and Dogs are welcome but should remained accompanied by an owner at all times ;)

Some people come to every session, others come as and when they can. There is no lists, no sign in, just a "Hi" and a "Is everyone with someone who knows where they are going?” then off we go. We attempt to keep similar paced runners/walkers together for safety, company and encouragement. We have set evening routes for winter of 3km, 5km, 8km and 10km that follow well illuminated footpaths around the estates.

All that we ask is a positive open mind and if you have any issues or concerns don't be afraid to shout up. We can only go with the majority and we aim to keep it both fun and free!

Tuesday 7.30 pm - The Cask, Park Lane - Bright Clothing and lights if possible (3k/5k/8k/10k) -
Thursday 10.00 am - New group meeting at the Car Park on South Park Drive (3k / 5k)